That’s a Wrap, Friday

IMG_1658

 

The end of the month, huh? If you say so. I’m a little dumbfounded at how quickly this first month has gone by, but with so many exciting things in the near future I’m all right with that.

How are you doing with your resolutions so far? I ate a banana yesterday and a blood orange with breakfast this morning. I’m basically the epitome of health. I’ve read three full books and am halfway through a fourth so I should probably pick up the pace a bit if I want to crush 40 books this year. Hmm, let’s see, I picked up my German workbook for the first time this year yesterday. Again, step it up, Kristina! Finally, I’ve taken over 200 pictures this year, so yeah, I’m doing OK with that one. Did you make resolutions? Are you sticking fast or taking a brief pause?

Tomorrow I am headed to Geneva for a two-day international writers’ conference. I am at turns nervous and excited, but more than anything happy to be pushing myself out of my comfort zone and doing something professionally enlightening. There should be an interesting mix of people and I’m looking forward to the various workshops I’ve signed up for. I will definitely be back with a full report!

What are you up to this weekend? Watching the Super Bowl (commercials) perchance? I know everyone in the States is pretty sick of the cold so I hope you get to take in some fresh air! Here are a few links from around the web if you find yourself back in front of the computer : )

Annnd that would be a knee to the crotch

Um, awkward

Speech 101: How to pronounce designer names and tricky food names

Next week we need to get down with this soup

6-Day Trip to Rural African Village Completely Changes Woman’s Facebook Profile Picture

I, for one, will definitely miss Super Bowl commercials this weekend. I really liked this spoof with Anna Kendrick for Newcastle beer

The last thing I need is a sweater but I am really digging this one

Pretty new dress for a wedding in March

Ernest Hemingway’s Reading List for a Young Writer (I haven’t read any of these except Dubliners…)

Got this in the mail yesterday

How cool are these ceramic cacti?

It “snowed” in Charleston this week and it sounds like people panicked a bit. But, Olivia Rae James’s photos of it are so beautiful and slightly haunting that they make the snow day look totally worth it

Lastly, I read an opinion piece this week that stopped me in my tracks for a bit. A young man, thirty-six years-old actually, found out last May that he has incurable lung cancer. As a neurosurgeon he wrestles with the inability to rely on statistics with any accuracy, but as a patient he yearns for more conclusive evidence and a greater understanding of his time left. It’s a wonderful, well-written read and serves as a meaningful reminder that our lives are so brief and unpredictable.

(image of the calendar that hangs in out kitchen. buy it here)

Leave a Reply

