Renting Books

One day, when a bunch of au pairs were sitting around at a coffee shop, or other equally swanky establishment, our friend, Nicole, said, “Wouldn’t it be so great if there was a place where you could go and read books and it would be cozy and quiet. And then, if you couldn’t finish your book, you could take it home with you and bring it back when you were done. That would be nice.” Nicole is from Ireland, but I’m pretty sure they have LIBRARIES in Ireland. We all looked around wearing the “Are you serious?!” expression we had perfected so well with our young charges.
Anyway, I always think of her when I go to the library. It was such a genuine request that I still find funny to this day. Yesterday, I paid a quick visit to my local library to grab a few reads. I may be the only person I know who would rent three books with less than a week before school starts. Whatever. I can read quickly…
Truth is, I got an email that a book I requested had finally made it in and I could hardly contain my excitement. Naturally, when I got there, I had to do a quick

via goodereader.com

scan of the shelves and see what I could get my grubby paws on. I’m an addict, alright?! I found a couple more options and headed to check out.

So, what’s the book? Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson. Honestly, I am pumped for this book. I read her blog, The Blogess, pretty regularly and it always leaves me in stitches. Adam read a couple pages of the book last night and even he was giggling along. I have heard so many great things about this book and I am pumped to read it. And I’m pretty sure I can devour it before next week.

 

Here’s hoping!

 

2 thoughts on “Renting Books

Leave a Reply

