Someone Call a Waahmbulance!!

Last Friday I read an over-the-top, hysterical article that was written in response to a nearly incoherent Esquire rant (won’t even dignify it with the title “article”) about how incomprehensibly whiny women have become. (Apparently), We whine about not being paid enough, not being seen as equals, not having our (crazy, outlandish) demands met, etc., etc., so on and so forth. I didn’t read the Esquire garbage, because I didn’t have to. Lindy West, the fair maiden who responded to the original absurdity, went through the fresh and imaginative piece essentially line by line and tried to dissect what exactly Stephen Marche meant by it all. It’s amazing.

 

To be clear, I am not a staunch feminist (not that you have to be to appreciate this argument), nor am I someone who actively espouses my political, social, economical, etc. beliefs for the public benefit. Precisely because it’s not anyone’s benefit when I do this. It’s just not a good color on me.  But, I do appreciate quick humor and drier-than-toast wit, so I love West’s response. It certainly helps that Marche’s “argument” is as loose as a first-grader’s tooth. Most ironic, however, and West notes this, that while he incessantly complains about how whiny women are, you can nearly hear his “voice” weasel it’s way into it’s highest register as he begins to whine about our whininess. It’s really beautiful to watch, actually. His complete unmaking, that is.

 

If you need a laugh on this Monday, which I most certainly do as I nearly punted the internet modem out of the window from sheer frustration, then give this little article a read. But, as I warned Jill on Friday, do not read it in public unless you are prepared to share with others what is so hilarious. And, if I am alone in thinking this is pure magic, then, well, I don’t know what because I feel pretty confident in standing behind this one.

 

PS: you totally don’t have to be a woman to appreciate this article. I think most lucid men will find it funny as well.

 

2 thoughts on “Someone Call a Waahmbulance!!

  1. I just love ALL of this. Too many quotable quotes to even repeat. Thank you, thank you for sharing!

    What killz me is that people don’t recognize/realize that feminism isn’t about women over men, it’s about equality. It’s taken on a bad name from women and men alike but seriously, equality. Except in the case of Stephen Marche. Everyone is better than Stephen Marche.

  2. I just love ALL of this. Too many quotable quotes to even repeat. Thank you, thank you for sharing!

    What killz me is that people don\’t recognize/realize that feminism isn\’t about women over men, it\’s about equality. It\’s taken on a bad name from women and men alike but seriously, equality. Except in the case of Stephen Marche. Everyone is better than Stephen Marche.

Leave a Reply

