The Latest Book

I promised a reading update and here I am delivering on that promise! ::raising the roof::

When I finished the English masters program I had a long list of metaphorical books I wanted to read. I want to read a book that is written in modern English. I want to read a book that doesn’t posses an undercurrent of Marxism, or even allude to it. I want to read a book that doesn’t require a supplementary book that serves as a reading guide. Basically, I wanted to sit down with a book, read it, and get it. And I didn’t really want to bust my brain in the process.

The first book I bought was The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie.

So, in essence, screw the list I made.

Except not. Because I started reading it and I really, really wanted to do right by it, but my worn out brain was all like, Lucy, you got some ‘splainin to do because this does not fit on the list. I wanted to read it because I read Midnight’s Children last fall and loved it. I was enthralled by the magical realism and fanciful language. Saleem was an incredible narrator and I wanted to experience that excitement again. What I got was a fistful of complexity that I wasn’t ready to face again. I battered and bruised my way through over 200 pages and let me tell you it was not pretty. I had no clue what was going on because I wasn’t giving it its just due. I was reading a few pages here and there, quickly before a doctor’s appointment, waiting for a friend at lunch, etc., and The Satanic Verses is not meant to be read like that. So I gave it all due respect and put it back on the shelf. I know there will come a time when I have the energy to muscle through it thoughtfully and intentionally, but for now I kinda just want to read books you can buy at Target (except I don’t live in America anymore so that doesn’t really work…)

 

RedHouse

Last week I picked up The Red House by Mark Haddon * at local bookstore that graciously houses a small English section. If you’ve read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time then I think you would really enjoy this book. A brother and sister and their respective family converge at a small house in Wales for a week of holiday. There, the usual sort of family drama ensues. It’s nothing you haven’t read before and it isn’t necessarily earth-shattering, but it’s clever and witty and contains the dry sort of humor I enjoy. Most importantly it is fulfilling the exact role I need it to, that is, being a book that is entertaining and not taxing. Voila!

What are you reading right now? Suggestions are always welcome and encouraged!**

**But keep it light and breezy for now

*Please don’t read the reviews on Amazon because those people give me the sads

 

image via

3 thoughts on “The Latest Book

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Book Club | A Broad At Home

Leave a Reply

