Friday, You Can Hang Out Here

IMG_0767

 

 

Last week I ordered three new writing books through Amazon and they politely informed me that while they would coordinate the customs and duties fees I wouldn’t receive my package until October 20. Seemed like a long time to wait to ship a few books, but hey, we’re talking international shipping here. I was pleasantly surprised to find them in the mailbox on Wednesday and they’ve been sitting on my desk waiting to be devoured. Slowly, of course. I’m looking forward to reading them and savoring the hidden gems that are sure to be found between their covers.

 

I have only a couple more chapters in The Art of Fielding and am interested to see how the novel resolves. I originally gave this book to my mom for Mother’s Day and I think she read it to humor me more than anything. Having read it myself now I understand it isn’t really her jam. She’s more of a Mary Higgins Clark kind of girl, a fact about which I tease her mercilessly. Can we not all put my English master’s degree to good use?! Next up is a juggling act between one of the above books and Infidel, which is the chosen title for the Bern book club I’m planning to crash at the end of October.

I’m definitely funnier than my sister Courtney but she has made back-to-back slam dunks in the humorist department. For fans of Devour or Funny or Die this is nothing new, but the latest Between Two Ferns she sent me had me chuckling over this morning’s coffee.

Speaking of coffee, this clever video deconstructs twenty-six common coffee combinations. While the new Nespresso machine we bought makes espresso, ristretto, or lungo only, I’m a big fan of cappuccinos when taking coffee at cafés.

My absolute favorite food is probably pizza, but it is closely tailed by pasta in general. We have some form of pasta at least a couple of times a week and I know some day it will catch up with me, probably when I’m shrugging on the only pair of spando-pants that fit me anymore. But until those dark days I will keep making dishes like this, one I’m especially eager to try this weekend.

Still on the interminable search for art. I would love to have a Maison Gray print and think this beach scene would be so cool above our sofa.

Also still on the interminable search for more friends. Maybe Amy Poehler will move here and give me a chance?

Last spring I started the much-circulated New Yorker article on Paul Haggis and his defection from Scientology. I was putting off studying for my comprehensive exam and finals and didn’t manage to finish the extensive article because I finally got a clue and worked on the more important stuff like, oh, finishing my degree with dignity. This week I returned to it and finished it and find myself still stunned at how such an organization can thrive amidst much-deserved skepticism and disbelief.

On a lighter note, this tumblr of bad kids jokes put a massive smile on my face. It’s simply a collection of kid-submitted jokes that never make it onto the joke website because of their absurdity or refusal to make sense. Perfect read for a Friday when work just cant seem to get itself accomplished ; )

 

Enjoy your weekend!

 

4 thoughts on “Friday, You Can Hang Out Here

  1. I’m neither here to CONFIRM, or deny that you are in fact funnier than our sister, but we all know that score right?

    I have a tip on the Nespresso, we got one earlier this year as well. I highly recommend getting the Breville milk frother, http://www.amazon.com/Breville-BMF600XL-Milk-Café-Frother/dp/B004RCNJ9Q/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1380310065&sr=8-1&keywords=breville+frother, to go with the machine for making latte’s and cappucinos. While I’m sure it’s not up to full on coffee house steam frother standards, it does a pretty good job and has variable temperature so you can use it to mix up an iced white mocha, a nice hot pumpkin spice latte, or just a normal cappuccino.

    Have a good weekend!!!

    • Thanks for the tip! I decided against getting a machine that could do all the fancy milk magic, but think something on the side would be a good option.

      The sausage shells you made last night looked amazing, by the way!!

  2. Alright, you two. Newsflash: cyber bullying is in fact NOT cool. I will herebytohitherfore stop sending funny things your way. And I will keep my awesome stories to myself and to all of my cool friends who think my stories are funny.

    Perumph.

    In other news, I make people at work laugh. So there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

