Be Kind and Gentle, Friday

bodysuit

Today I planned to talk about how Adam and I completely crushed Breaking Bad this week and immediately started on House of Cards. I was going to talk a little bit about how I’m really pleased with the ending of BB and already very much into the drama on HoC. BUT, then I watched this video and I couldn’t really think about anything else.

I got chills from watching it and I think you will too. A news anchor received a hateful, unprecedented email from a complete stranger about how her “obesity” is sending the wrong message to the youth watching at home and it is her “community responsibility” to do something about her appearance. Besides cutting him to the quick about how sorely out of line he is, she also mentions the irony of his email: is he not sending the wrong message to his own children and community youth by being an anonymous cyber-bully and general asshole?

I think what impressed me most was her composure and resiliency, her refusal to stoop to his level and her commitment to ensuring kids not as confident or self-aware as herself are convinced that they are not defined by hurtful attacks such as this. Her message is so empowering and I’m impressed by her strength. It is a great reminder to be kind and gentle to those who cross our path.

On a lighter note, here are a few links from the webs:

Looking for a good book to read? Here are 100.

Best new remix.

“Selfie” usage rose by 17,000% in 2013, making it Oxford Dictionary’s word of the year.

Champagne is my absolute favorite. Swirly glasses make it extra festive.

“What is your generic term for a sweet, carbonated beverage?” Pop. What about you? 

A love story for the modern age. Will you see it?

Seriously debating the need for this at our wedding.

At the top of my Christmas list.

At the top of Adam’s Christmas list.

Haha.

“As we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.” Nelson Mandela and his universal wisdom will surely be missed.

 

What are you up to this weekend? Adam and I are going to a holiday party tomorrow night (wearing these) and then I have a book club on Sunday, for which I am supposed to bake cookies. We’ll see how that goes… Hope you have a restorative weekend!

image via

2 thoughts on “Be Kind and Gentle, Friday

Leave a Reply

