Reading List 2014, Volume 1

So far this year I’ve eaten three clementines and two apples so I can definitely say I am making progress on the “eat more fruit” resolution and that is a bonus. (I also bought blood oranges at the store this morning–no scurvy for this household!) This morning, at the bookstore, I made the beginning steps toward progress on the slightly more demanding resolution of “read 40 new books.” I say “new” because to read a book every week, on average, is a lofty yet achievable goal and one that gives me wiggle room for rereads, which are an inevitable part of my literary appetite. I am slogging through Martha Quest right now and believe me it is slow-going. Like, I can only read it in cafes because every.single.time I start reading it I fall asleep. Even on the train! So I have to read it in public or I will still be talking about it in a year. And, consequently, be narcoleptic.

Martha Quest is for book club at the end of the month so I certainly have time to read it, but this morning I picked up a book I am actually excited about: Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld. I read her debut novel, Prep, twice about a million years ago and loved it for its painful and hugely embarrassing, and in turn honest, portrayal of youthful angst. I know she is more well known for her second novel, American Wife, about a fictional First Lady, but I actually haven’t read that. I’m just going to jump to her next book and hope that proves as well written and insightful as her first.

In addition, I’ve listed a series of books that I am very much looking forward to reading in 2014. They are, in no particular order:

  • Bleeding Edge, Thomas Pynchon
  • The Circle, Dave Eggers
  • The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt
  • The Luminaries, Eleanor Catton
  • Levels of Life, Julian Barnes
  • Smarter Than You Think: How Technology is Changing Our Minds for the Better, Clive Thompson
  • Stories II, TC Boyle
  • Beloved, Toni Morrison
  • Oblivion, David Foster Wallace
  • Dear Life: Stories, Alice Munro
  • Goodbye to All That: Writers on Loving and Leaving New York, ed. Sari Botton
  • The Year of Magical Thinking, Joan Didion
  • Elements of Style, William Strunk and E.B. White
  • Half Broke Horses: A True Life Novel, Jeanneatte Walls
  • The Liars’ Club: A Memoir, Mary Karr

Not a bad start to the list. I truly hope to get to all these books, and obviously quite a few more this year. Help hold me accountable, okay? Are there any books on here you can vouch for? And, better yet, are there any titles you’d care to recommend? I’m always up for suggestions!

I’ll try to keep track of my progress on the Book It page, which has become woefully outdated. Happy reading!

6 thoughts on “Reading List 2014, Volume 1

  1. Kristina- I’ve read The Year of Magical Thinking and Blue Nights by Joan Didion—The first one was after her husband died suddenly and I just lost Grandpa Ben-and she is a good writer! Happy New Year! Love you Grandma G.

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Book Club: Martha Quest | A Broad At Home

  3. Pingback: Update: Reading List 2014 | A Broad At Home

Leave a Reply

