Happy New Year, Friday!

Linguistic Map

 

According to the New York Times‘s dialect quiz, “How Y’all, Youse and You Guys Talk,” I most identify with central-southern Kansas and Nebraska. Ehh, close enough. Some of the questions are a bit mystifying (“How do you pronounce Mary, merry, and marry?” Uhh, the same?) but many of the usual suspects are in there as well (e.g., “What do you call a sweet, carbonated beverage?” Pop!).

It’s certainly worth taking the quiz especially since it’s a Friday and rainy here and probably freezing where you are. Mostly, though, it’s just fun to read what other regions of the country are calling a roly-poly and whether or not you have a name for the phenomenon of rain occurring while the sun shines (I do not). Anyway, take the quiz and tell me where you’re “from.”

And if you’re still in a procrastinating mood here are a few links that caught my eye this week:

In the name of maps, here are 40 maps that are supposed to help you make sense of the world, but that I foundย sort ofย nonsensical.

Adam and I need to decorate our third room, which is the office-slash-guest room. Here are some great tips on putting together a functional office (at home or in a more professional setting where jammies and spando-pants are not de rigueur)

Movie adaptations of books can be tricky to reconcile, but this list of upcoming flicks gives me hope.

Winter soups: Spicy Black Bean, Creamy Cauliflower, White Bean Chicken Chili, and Sausage and Tortellini. I made the last one about a week ago and can confirm it was tasty. It actually was better a couple days later, but one must be able to handle the very soft noodles by that point.

Are you also working out indoors? Here are five new routines to try at home.

This would be me.

Are writing and alcoholism still inextricably linked?

Pig intestines being served as calamari?! Say it isn’t so!!

Adam and I are researching honeymoon destinations (taking all tips!) and this will be first on the packing list. Joining the masses it seems…

Just discovered the prints of Clare Elsaesser. Really love this one in particular.

Shoes.

College in a nutshell.

Admittedly an abbreviated list, but I was up to other goodness this week, specifically the devouring of Scandal on Netflix. Anyone else watching this show?

What are you up to this weekend? Not sure what our plans are exactly but I know that we will be deliberately avoiding contact with basically everyone because it seems like this whole city is sick. Sick as a fox as Liz Lemon would say…

0217_liz-lemon-30-rock-joker_ob

This comes from my favorite episode of 30 Rock, by the way (season 6, episode 8). A-n-y-w-a-y, I think we are making curry and possibly buying some much-needed furniture, but other than that it should be pretty relaxed. Whatever you get up to, I hope it’s grand!

 

6 thoughts on “Happy New Year, Friday!

  1. So I took the quiz. I got Kansas City, Springfield, Mo, and Indianapolis. Makes sense as the folks are from Ohio so I’ve got a little more of that eastern flavor. That said with Courtney being out of Texas I know that I answered a few questions a certain way due to vocabulary that she has introduced to me i.e. feeder roads, and coke instead of pop.

  2. Yes, “ya’ll” was making lil’ Courtney mad. I’m glad to hear you’ve stopped saying it ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, I heard a feature on NPR about the pig rectum as calamari stand in – crazy! I don’t have a problem if people want to eat it; just don’t lie to your customers and pass it as something it’s not.

Leave a Reply

