Tuesday Book Club: One More Thing

Bj Novak at Desk

 

bj-novak-one-more-thing-square-w352Last week I bought B.J. Novak’s first fiction, One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories. You probably recognize (and hate him a little) from The Office if you’ve ever watched TV on Thursday nights or late, late at night now though syndication. While his character might be irredeemable at times, you have to admit that Ryan was best known for one-liners and the edge of snark that made watching the show such a pleasure.

Novak is a trained writer and stand-up comedian, which made approaching his book more palatable. Despite my collection of celebrity memoirs (Chelsea Handler, Tina Fey, Mindy Kaling, etc.) they always make me a little apprehensive because I don’t want any second-hand embarrassment for someone who is trying to hard.

Fear not. This is not one of those cases.

I actually bought One More Thing on audiobook because I wanted something to listen to while working on a project for the guest room. And as I was walking home from the grocery store yesterday listening to it I realized that I may not like the book as much if I were simply reading it hardback style. There are so many great voices on the audiobook: Lena Dunham, Jason Schwartzman, Rainn Wilson, Mindy Kaling, Jenna Fischer, Julianne Moore, CArey Mulligan, Emma Thompson and Katy Perry, and I think that’s what really makes the piece. If you’re considering it, may I suggest as a book on tape?

There are a few points at which I sort inwardly groaned, but so far that’s been minimal. Though the best part is probably the dialogue. Novak excels tremendously as capturing realistic, believable conversations, both external and internal. The book is a great accompaniment to working outside, going for a walk, or cooking dinner. And, best of all, it actually is laugh-out-loud funny.

Do you ever listen to audiobooks? I have a few that I bought for our drive from Charleston to Kansas City and I listen to them constantly! Have you read One More Thing, or are you interested? What’s everyone reading?!

Here are a few reviews of the book, followed by the official trailer. Let me know what you think!

(image 1 via GQ; image 2 via Glamour)

 

One thought on “Tuesday Book Club: One More Thing

  1. Pingback: Easy Ikea Upgrade | A Broad At Home

Leave a Reply

