Tuesday Book Club: Portlandia Activity Book

portlandia cover

Does anyone here watch “Portlandia” on IFC? I haven’t watched it recently simply because we don’t have reliable access to it anymore but it was secretly one of my favorite quirky shows. Every time I watched it I got that itchy second-hand embarrassment from how outrageous the sketches were, but the ridiculously funny characters and one-liners make all the sweaty pits worth it.

McSweeney’s recently published The Portlandia Activity Book, which promises to “expand your mind through participation, dehydrate you to a state of emotional rawness, then linger in the corners your bare soul.” Sounds thrilling!

The conversation starters and stoppers that are included in the book look like they would be most helpful at upcoming outdoor barbecues and summer weddings. Which ones are your favorites?

conversation starter cards

 

conversation stopper cards

Given my recent forays into indoor plant life and outdoor gardening I think the geranium question would be a pretty smooth transition piece for me. I honestly don’t know what I would say if someone asked me what hummus was like. Delicious? Flesh colored?

Do you ever buy kitschy coffee table books like this? I have a couple that I’ve received as gifts over the years, and while I don’t open them often whenever I do it’s usually a hoot. They make great White Elephant gifts and “just because” gifts if you’re ever in a pickle on what to get.

Oh, and you can wear this t-shirt while you read the book : )

Leave a Reply

