A Fitness Tip: Turbo Kick

Did anyone end up trying the plyometric workout I posted several weeks ago? We’re still doing it (twice a week when we’re ambitious enough to get up early) and have felt stronger, but I’ve been incorporating other exercise routines into my week as well.

When I was in college my sister and I used to attend a class called Turbo Kick. Have you heard of it? It was once described to me as “one part dance, one part kickboxing, and a whole lotta attitude!” For someone as corny as myself this sounded quite in line with my attitudes toward fitness and I became a quick convert to the high-intensity workout. We used to do this almost every Friday afternoon and it was the perfect start to the weekend. Our instructor was crazy energetic and always made the 50-minute class incredibly fun, which is an important part of fitness, I believe. (Well, at least most of the time. Sometimes it’s time to get serious).

It was tough to leave her classes (she actually got engaged to a K-State basketball player on the court during Senior Night), but my sister and I found an amazing replacement at the 24-Hour Fitness in Overland Park. She was just as nuts and totally jazzed about fitness. She was always yelling her cues and bouncing around the walls like a maniac but it was that high energy that always kept me motivated and prevented me from taking the class too seriously. The soreness the next day was serious enough.

Anyway, this is all to say that Turbo Kick is highly addictive, especially if you find a passionate and enthusiastic teacher. Unfortunately the exercise class I’m in right now is missing that turbo quality, but I’m still getting a good workout every Friday. (I’m also mastering numbers 1-8, parts of the body, and directions as the class is taught in German!) But, I still get my Turbo Kick fix via a couple videos online. Chalene Johnson, the woman behind the kickbox/dance/attitude combination doesn’t sell videos to the public because they are only meant for teachers who will be working at gyms and studios. It’s a real bummer for those of us with no access to classes, but I may have found a wee loophole:

There are two videos online, both only the first half of the class, but given how out of practice I am with TK I don’t think I could handle much more. If you aren’t familiar with the moves and names of the exercises I would encourage you to watch it through once before you actually try it because it can be very frustrating without someone explaining all the moves and cues. For example, there’s a move called Turbo Twist that never actually gets explained, you’re just supposed to know what it looks like (“a whole lotta attitude!”). But, like I said, once you do it or watch it a few times I think you’ll catch on quickly.

I do one video maybe once or twice a week and let’s just say it’s blasting a lot of calories and wind from my lungs. These classes are tough! But they are just what I need to mix up my routine. “I really wanna lose three pounds.” ; )

 

 

I’m no Billy Blanks at this point; my punches still look very much like an amateur, but I’m definitely having a whole lotta fun jumping around my apartment getting my fitness on.

 

THIS IS SUPER IMPORTANT: I am not a fitness expert and I make no claims to be one. Exercise is a hobby and big interest of mine. I have never been certified as a personal trainer and only have certifications for yoga through YogaFit. Please consult a trained professional before beginning a new fitness program. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

