Put on Your White Pants, Friday

summer whites

Memorial Day weekend: it’s time for white pants! Or is that rule passé now? I can’t remember. I’m pretty sure you can just wear whatever you want, whenever you want.  My new white jeans should arrive later today and I can’t wait to break them in.

Are you doing anything special for the long weekend? That is, if you are in the States, because of course it’s business as usual around here. Although next Thursday is a bank holiday and everyone has the day off. Maybe we’ll do our barbecuing then : ) I have fond memories of trips down to the Lake of the Ozarks during this weekend, dodging thunderstorms and funnel clouds as we wind our way down narrow country roads. My parents have now put our lake house up for sale and it’s bittersweet to see the place go, but I know another family with more time and opportunities to enjoy it will be good for the house. The start of lake season really is a beautiful thing.

I’m going to an American Women’s Club dinner tonight and on a day trip with a couple of friends tomorrow. We’ve had really gorgeous weather this weekend and I hope it holds up for a little longer. I think we all breathed a sigh of relief this week, grateful as we were for the rise in temperatures and a glimpse of pure blue skies.

If you need some reading material for your long road trip to the lake or beach (or solid couch time #noshame), here is a list of links that caught my eye this week:

An honest wedding invitation.

A Spiderman ring bearer. Genius. (Matt, I’m totally on board if your kids want to do this…)

“My Ideal Weddings by Age”.

A cheeky tote.

Ryan Gosling wearing a t-shirt of Macaulay Culkin wearing a t-shirt of Gosling wearing a t-shirt of Macaulay Culkin

Easy homemade salsa. Yum!

Made me laugh. Hard.

I’m reading this book right now and LOVE it.

Nutrition trends that drive dietitians crazy. The first one actually kind of peeves me too.

The importance of being idle.

In contrast, we tried this workout routine this week and thought it was pretty good, but certainly no plyo.

What are your thoughts on kids on airplanes? Do they drive you nuts? Do you hardly notice them? This post opened up an interesting discussion, especially in light of potential “kid zones” on planes in the future.

Do you ever travel alone for pleasure? I took a trip by myself to Manchester and Cambridge when I was living in Switzerland a few years ago and it was very enlightening. I liked being fully in charge of my schedule and dictating what the day would look like, but I also really missed the company and a person to share all my experiences with. I do highly recommend it, however, as it was a wonderful learning experience and opportunity to get to know myself a bit more.

(image via Design Darling)

One thought on “Put on Your White Pants, Friday

  1. 1. I’m wearing white pants today!
    2. LOVE the wedding style spidey sense. Matt – it’s a must.
    3. Agree with the dietitian article – however, I must admit – I did bring chocolate chip kale cookies for my team as a parting gift 🙂

Leave a Reply

