Practice Snaps

IMG_3437

Last week I spent some time getting to know my camera a little better. The only thing that disappointed me about this exercise is that I waited so long to do it. I watched a few online videos that are perfect for the novice photographer as they are certainly not mind blowing in terms of content. But, I learned a lot of about adjusting aperture, ISO, shutter speed and white balance and the experience has left me feeling more confident and capable with my camera.

I took a few practice shots at the Rosengarten, which you’ve seen quite a bit of on both this blog and my Instagram. As if the overwhelming number of pictures taken there isn’t confirmation enough, let it be known that we spend a lot of time there. It’s literally directly across the street from our apartment and makes for a great place to hold picnics, happy hours, date nights and casual afternoon bocce ball tournaments. It is home to 220 types of roses, 200 species of irises and moor beds and contains at least 20 different types of rhododendrons. Azaleas, crocuses, daffodils, flowering trees and many other flora and fauna can also be found there (along with a very cool capoeira club that spends a lot of time “free-styling”).

To note, I have a Canon EOS Rebel t41 and have been shooting with a Canon EF-S 18-135 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens. I also have a 50 mm lens that shoots great close-ups and detail shots. If you have any suggestions or tips I would love to hear them!

IMG_3448

 

 

IMG_3386

 

IMG_3393

 

IMG_3403

 

IMG_3413

 

IMG_3415

 

IMG_3420

 

IMG_3432

 

IMG_3436

 

IMG_3438

 

IMG_3441

 

IMG_3463

 

IMG_3444

 

 

 

IMG_3453

 

IMG_3492

 

IMG_3465

 

IMG_3480

 

IMG_3467

 

IMG_3474

 

IMG_3496

 

IMG_3499

5 thoughts on “Practice Snaps

    • Really?! Was it the bride with the humungous princess dress?? We see quite a few weddings over there, but this one was memorable ; )

      Yes, the garden looks so beautiful and lush with everything in bloom! I just wish this blog had smell-o-vision because it is so fragrant.

  1. Mmh, i guess that wasn’t the one. 😉 She wore a beautiful but more simple dress – i’ll let you know when i post the pictures on my blog.

  2. Hi! It’s me again – i finally got around to editing and posting this wedding shooting at the Rosengarten. Check out my Website if you’d like to see! Have a great week, Michal

  3. Pingback: Happy Meetiversary, Friday! | A Broad At Home

Leave a comment