Tuesday Book Club: Stories II

IMG_4716

IMG_4724

IMG_4714

Stories II by T. C. Boyle has been sitting around our apartment since last fall. It pretty much moved in when we did!

To be honest, the reason that I hadn’t started it prior to this weekend was its sheer size. It’s nearly 1,000 pages and it. is. heavy. I like to bring my current book around with me in my purse because you never know when you’re going to want or need your book, but this tome is definitely not making the cut. It’s huge!

I still haven’t figured out a way to read it besides setting it on a table in front of me or reading it on my stomach, and woe is me, right? Reading is hard work sometimes.

What I have figured out is that this collection of short stories is good. Really good. And really fun. How did I not know about T.C. Boyle? He is a prolific writer, both of short stories and novels, and this particular collection showcases his growing talent over the last 20 years. I’m only a short way into it and I’m already hooked.

I’ll definitely be reading something in tandem because I have a feeling this book will take me a while to muscle through and I’ve got a resolution to accomplish this year. I just bought this book because I think it’s important to know everything there is to know about your addictions (I kid, I kid. Sorta.), and it’s definitely a contender as a simultaneous read. But, I also recently bought this book and it could be just what I need in terms of lighter fare.

What are you reading? Anything great for summer? We have LOTS of summer travel coming up and I could use some suggestions!

 

p.s. how about those snapdragons?!

 

One thought on “Tuesday Book Club: Stories II

  1. I don’t read so heady as material as you, but i just finished “Pronto” and “Riding the Rap” by Elmore Leonard. These 2 books feature the main character from the FX series “Justified” the books came first of course and there are some disparities in their details, but they are both, books and TV show, quite entertaining. The other books I’ve been reading lately are the Lee Childs Jack Reacher series, also pretty entertaining.

Leave a Reply

