Our Week in the States: Part 1

IMG_1542

It’s hard to imagine a better ten days back in the US. Christmas was nice, of course, and we loved being at home last summer before we moved, although that was for a lot longer than ten days. The last week that we were back, however, was truly exceptional: the best people, the best places, and the best times I can imagine.

Adam and I started in Charleston for a long weekend and I wish I had more pictures to share with you other than the two I have, but we were too busy making memories and being present, which I consider a major success considering how much we looked forward to this trip. The whole thing was very bittersweet. With every friend we met up with we continually wondered why we ever left the place. It’s wonderful to know all those friendships are still very much intact and that we could pick up where we left off, but it’s also hard to imagine being so far away from them and not knowing exactly when we’ll be back.

IMG_1513

^^can you see my hair beginning to expand in this photo? I swear, it started out straight! (maybe not really, but almost..)^^

IMG_1517

I met up with a couple of my girlfriends from graduate school for brunch at Husk, a major must if you’re in the city (also, consider visiting the bar next door for wicked bourbon cocktails and the best burger imaginable). We then hit King Street pretty hard and I swooned over some of my favorite stores (think J. Crew, Madewell, Anthropologie, etc.) and American prices. Everything felt like a steal! We met up with Adam and friends at Bay Street Biergarten, a very cool addition to the downtown area, and finished with dinner at Leon’s Oyster Shop with a table of even more friends. Insider Tip: go for either the fish sandwich or fried chicken sandwich and don’t turn back. Obviously we couldn’t leave without a quick stop at The Belmont for gin and tonics.

On Sunday we feasted at Butcher & Bee, our absolute favorite brunch spot, and then relaxed at my editor’s house with her kids and husband. It was a hot afternoon soothed by welcome libations and homemade duck prosciutto. In short, they know how to entertain. For dinner, we supped with Adam’s old roommate and a few more friends. It was the perfect cap to the weekend.

IMG_1521

Upon arriving in Kansas City we hit the ground running: errands and shopping; meeting with friends and family; and finding a few moments to relax amidst all the chaos. I was hit pretty hard with some ferocious allergies and didn’t feel like myself nearly all week. It was a bit rough, considering the temperature never went below 90 degrees and that intensity only added to the general fatigue I felt. But, I’m a survivor so we carried on : )

IMG_1530

 

IMG_1593

We visited with the triplets, which was amazing. They still prefer their Uncle Adam to their actual blood relative, but I’m planning to spoil them with candy and credit cards so they will like me by Christmas. I love them like a crazy person.

My friend Jill came in town extra early and she got a manicure and pedicure with my sister, sister-in-law and me and it was a wonderful calm-before-the-storm moment. So was my “bridal luncheon” with Courtney at Rye, a great place for lunch or dinner.

For me, the wedding day is crystalline, but the week leading up to it is the real blur. Every day I felt like I looked at the clock and thought, No, it can’t already be that late! Those days slipped by faster than I would have liked, but it really was one of my favorite weeks of the year. And, it was surprisingly easy to fall back into routines we had left behind. One morning Adam and I left Nordstrom, after buying ties, shoes and makeup, grabbed our iced coffees, hopped in my mom’s Suburban and drove across the street to Target to stock up on a few toiletries and medicines we like. It felt so suburban. So American. We couldn’t help but laugh at how different our experiences are here in Bern.

Obviously we won’t have our professional photos of the wedding for a few weeks but I’d love to share a few that were taken by us and friends and family throughout the day and night. I’ll work on getting some of those photos ready for next week if you’d like to see them. Until then, I’ll be getting as much sunlight as possible to help me return to this time zone. I spent about three hours counting sheep last night and I’d love to get back to a rhythm soon.

Leave a Reply

