Summer TV

Spring has barely sprung around these parts and I’m already looking forward to summer. Although what I have in mind right now isn’t so much of the fun-in-the-sun persusaion, but that’s forefront on my mind as well. It figures since we didn’t really have a summer here last year, rather one long unprecedented rainy season. I truly can’t wait to get back to work on my summer tan…

No, but what I’m thinking about right now is the return of two of my favorite shows: Orange Is The New Black and True Detective. Trailers for both seasons were recently released and I thought you might be just as interested as I am.

Netflix’s wildly successful show–its handful of awards certainly prove it–is back again and I’m thrilled. I’m terrible about causally mentioning spoilers so I won’t babble for long but last season ended with a bang and I’m excited to see where this season picks up. The trailer promises loads of new cast members and the drama that they inevitably bring. Will you be watching?

You might also be interested in Kate Mulgrew’s recent memoir, Born With Teeth. She plays Red in OITNB and her book suggests that Mulgrew has some of the same chops as her tough, no-nonsense character. Among other hardships she has faced throughout her life, Mulgrew tells about giving her child up for adoption when she was only 22 and turning around days later to play a woman giving birth to her first child on the popular soap opera, Ryan’s Hope. She has gumption and guts and her memoir promises the same candor you’ve come to know and appreciate in her character Red. You can read more about it in this NPR article. I especially like this quote: “I’m not one of those who will ever say to you ‘No regrets.’ I have serious regrets. And I think most thoughtful people do, if they live a life as I have lived mine with a great deal of abandon and passion.”

 

True Detective, an HBO original, airs its second season on June 21. Replacing Woody Harrelson and Matthew McConaughey are Vince Vaughn and Colin Farrell. Rachel McAdams, who I love, joins the cast as well. It’s shaping up to look pretty mysterious and intense. Not too much is given away in the trailer which is fine with me. I love, love surprises. Did you watch last season? Will you watch this one? Admittedly the storyline was disturbing but the acting was terrific.

Just for fun, here’s a spoof of True Detective that came out about a year ago. It made me laugh out loud. Matthew McConaughey. What a character…

One thought on “Summer TV

  1. I gotta say I’m a huge TD fan and looking forward to the new season. It will be really hard for it to live up to the expectations after the masterful performances of both Woody and Matthew in season 1, but i’m looking forward to seeing them try.

    As far as OITNB goes. I watched all of season one and I just don’t get it. It was ok, but I didn’t care about any of the characters enough to bother with season 2. I tried, but I just couldn’t get into it. That said, it’s way better than any of the assisted reality tv out there right now. I really hoped that as a country we’d have moved on by now, but to my overwhelming disappointment we have not.

    Oh well, happy viewing, look forward to Skyping with you guys again soon.

Leave a Reply

