Sleepy Weekend

sleepy chick

What are you up to this weekend? I’ve got a meeting this evening (8:00pm on a Friday?!) and Adam’s going to work on his record player all night and then all day tomorrow. It’s supposed to be very rainy so we’re hunkering down for a sleepy weekend. Plus I’m making meatballs! Oh, and we’re going to our friends’ house for pulled pork burritos on Sunday night (I’ve had them before and they are beyond). So we have some things to do in between all that napping : )

But first I have to tell you a funny story: Last Friday we went to Zurich for a Purity Ring concert and to hang out with Phil and his out-of-town visitor. The doors opened at 7:00 and the opening act started at 7:30. We didn’t get into town until about 7:00 and we headed to dinner upon arrival. We got to the venue at 9:00 and showed our tickets to the bouncer. After he laughed at us he informed us that it was over. The whole concert, front to back, was over. We could see through the second-floor windows that they were in fact taking down the stage.

What kind of concert begins and ends within and hour and a half?! I couldn’t believe it! I was embarrassed and disappointed and shocked. Between the concert tickets and the train tickets we had spent a decent amount of money and all it really amounted to a healthy serving of shame. But, thankfully we were all able to laugh it off (mostly out of incredulity) and move on.Β It was just a surreal moment and so terribly Swiss. Everything on time, everything done at a nice, reasonable hour. Although I have been to a lot of concerts here and this has never happened before…

Anyway! It was such a silly experience and I can’t believe we missed out on the concert. Upward and onward! And I hope you have a lovely, relaxing weekend.

 

(“Sleepy Chick” image via)

6 thoughts on “Sleepy Weekend

  1. wait wait wait wait. Where’s my Friday list of links to other fun stuff? I’m shopping for a new purse/skirt/shirt, I need a song, and where or where am I going to find a recipe for something yummy to cook? I’m going to be lost this weekend without the normal Friday post.

    Love you, have a fun lazy weekend. I’ll be doing yardwork mostly, and helping a buddy move. We’re re-locating some plants so we can use a previously mostly unused space to plant a small garden for the kiddos.

    • ha! I hate to leave you in this dramatic lurch, but it felt redundant to post a list of links after so many other links the previous day. Somehow methinks you’ll survive : )

      How cute! A garden for the kiddos. Can’t wait to see what kind of mischief they get up to digging for nightcrawlers and such in there.

  2. The story about the concert is too funny! I’m sure that was a big disappointment. I experienced the opposite end of the spectrum here in the Dominican Republic, when the tickets announced that the concert would start at 9:00pm, we arrived at 11:00pm, and it didn’t start until 2:00am (and lasted until 6:00am)…I wasn’t that pleased in that scenario either!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

