I Never Bake

 

 

IMG_7465

IMG_7480Honestly, I don’t like baking. I don’t have a sweet tooth so baking cakes or pies or cookies really doesn’t appeal to me (though I know they do to a certain someone in the house…). I also find baking to be too precise for my style; I like the flexibility of most savory cooking, adding a little of this or a touch of that in substitute of another taste I don’t particularly favor. It’s too tricky to mess with measurements and substitutions while baking. And honestly, it intimidates me.

Ah, but savory baking. Deb at smitten kitchen is really on to something here. Sure, there’s the precision of a baked good at play (the usual suspects, baking powder, baking soda, flour, salt, all make an appearance), but there’s also cheese. And there are caramelized onions.

IMG_7478

 

So Saturday became an experimental day for me. I tried my hand at baking and I must say it went well, like very well. These little biscuits are pure delight and may have convinced me that baking is worth looking into (more than once or twice a year that is).

We had them with cured meats before digging into spaghetti and meatballs (carbo-loading over here! hey, I’ve got a race to train for…) and then again on Sunday morning with scrambled eggs. I imagine they work in a variety of other situations…in which I am present.

IMG_7481

You can find the full recipe here. I’d rather not reproduce it in full because I truly didn’t change anything. The gruyere is critical so look in specialty stores if you can’t find it in your regular grocery store. Mine are a bit flatter than hers, so maybe a hazard of high-altitude baking?Β I will say, however, that it takes me a lot longer to get onions to caramelize than what is suggested in the original recipe. I’ve never done it in less than an hour and gotten the deep flavor I really want. Therefore, this becomes a recipe you want to try when you have some time on your hands. (As I thought about it, though, you could caramelize the onions ahead of time and then put the dough together when you want to bake them)

As Deb mentions, these are superb right out of the oven (oh, the scent of these babies) with a little butter. But we reheated them in the toaster oven the next morning (325 degrees for about 5-7 minutes) and they tasted just as good. Pro tip: you definitely want them warm.

What do you think? Will you try these? Do you like baking? Is it more of a chore for you? A confession: this was the first time I used our rolling pin!

 

(all photos my own: )

 

2 thoughts on “I Never Bake

  1. Pingback: Off for the Weekend! | A Broad At Home

Leave a Reply

