Tuesday Book Club: Mid-Year Update

 

bookshelf

How is your summer reading? Any books you’ve been flying through or can’t wait to start reading? Reading in the winter is always fun because you can get cozy under a blanket with a hot cup of tea, but reading in the summer is a blast because you can take your books outside and fall asleep under the giant tree in your front yard (this may have happened to me on Sunday…)

I thought it would be nice to share my progress so far this year since we’ve officially hit the halfway point today (what the?!). You might remember that I’m trying to read 40 new books this year and I am pretty close to staying on target. I’ve marked books I would highly recommend with an asterisk (*) and you can read more about my thoughts on each book by following the link:

  1. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie*
  2. Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann
  3. I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron
  4. Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan
  5. She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb
  6. Brain on Fire by Susannah Cahalan
  7. Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed *
  8. We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas
  9. The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty
  10. The Innocents by Francesca Segal
  11. Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum
  12. The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan
  13. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
  14. Absurdistan by Gary Shteyngart
  15. Being Mortal by Atul Gawande *
  16. A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra *
  17. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz *

Reread: The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt and Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

I just finished Oscar Wao last night and I loved it! I think I read the last one hundred pages yesterday alone. It’s rhythmic dialect and cadence were sharp and funny and the frightening and at-times terrifying history of the Dominican Republic made for a unique setting. My friend Claire recommended the book and I am ever grateful for her suggestion. It won the Pulitzer Prize several years ago so you might have heard of it before. It’s a heartbreaking story about a tragic boy, a family curse, and our universal desire to fit in.

What about you? What are some of your favorite books from 2015? I’d love to hear some of your suggestions. Right before bed I started Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. It should be a interesting flashback to our recent trip to Iceland. Otherwise, here are books that are currently sitting on my shelves at home, waiting to be read:

  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
  • The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai
  • The Mockingbird Next Door: Life with Harper Lee by Marja Mills
  • A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway
  • Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel (the sequel to Wolf Hall)

I certainly don’t have the problem of what to read next! I do like to keep a bunch of books around so I always have a book to read next or to take on vacation. And I really like to have books on the shelf; I love the look and I genuinely enjoy having the visual reminder of a specific story or character.

Happy reading!

(image via Covet Garden)

5 thoughts on “Tuesday Book Club: Mid-Year Update

  1. Oscar Wao! One of my favorite books ever. I’m lucky to work for Junot’s publisher and this was the very first book I read after I got my job, and I remember feeling so blown away and grateful to get to even be in the same sphere as him. I finished the book on the subway and was crying like a total maniac. What a writer. Have you read any of his other books? He’s awesome. AND I just picked up Burial Rights at a used bookstore, it’s next on my list.

    Currently reading Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rivka Brunt. And All The Light We Cannot See was my fave book of 2014. You have fantastic taste, you can count on a regular new Tuesday Book Club reader!

    • Yay! This is so awesome and I am having some major pangs of envy right now: working for Junot’s publisher?! You win! Thank you for your recommendations. I really want to read This is How You Lose Her. It’s super popular here in Switzerland at our English bookshop so it’s going on the list asap. Seriously, can’t wait to hear what other books you recommend : )

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Book Club: Three-Quarter Update | A Broad At Home

Leave a Reply

