My Engagement Ring

adam-kristina-0058

IMG_0879

I don’t think I ever told you the funny story about my engagement ring.

After Adam and I decided together that we wanted to get married someday and spend forever with one another we went to a few jewelry stores around Charleston to find inspiration. One of our first stops was an over-stuffed antique jewelry shop with plenty of baubles to keep us busy for a while. What really stood out, however, was a ring that looked almost exactly like the one you see above. The one in the shop was much bigger though, too big for my slender fingers and we agreed it was over-the-top. But I loved the look and I couldn’t get the idea of a sapphire flanked with trillions out of my mind.

We perused other stores and ideas–I even entertained the thought of having a diamond as the center stone–but I kept coming back to my original idea. Adam and I talked about it a bit, but I was so preoccupied with finishing my master’s and studying for my comprehensive exam that it wasn’t something that dominated our conversations.

It was taking over Adam’s life, though. Rather than go back to the jewelry stores we had frequented in Charleston, Adam took to the internet and began ordering loose sapphires to his apartment for his inspection. Some were too dark and some were too light, some were not what they claimed to be, and others just weren’t the right fit. He ordered a healthy amount of sapphires, maxing out his credit card (imagine the miles he earned!) and worrying his roommate in the process (what are all these mysterious packages that keep showing up??). As he recalls, he was a mess.

I was oblivious to all of this.

Right before graduation and our scheduled trip to “Portland” we went back to a sweet jewelry shop on King Street and looked at rings yet again. This was about a week and a half before we were going on our trip so I was sure that we weren’t going to get engaged. But, we looked at rings, compared sapphire colors, and we left the store. I went back to finish a paper and Adam went back to the store to put together a custom ring with the jeweler. He received the completed ring the day before we flew to Zurich, two days before we actually got engaged. What a rush!

post celebratory champagne_2It’s funny looking back on it now, but Adam was feeling a lot of heat during those months. I was recently introduced to Invaluable, an online premier auction site for vintage goods and treasures. Their jewelry auction page is full of beautiful, one-of-a-kind jewels that are quick to become heirloom pieces. I imagine this would have been a great resource for Adam as he was looking for a special ring that spoke to our specific aesthetic. It certainly would have saved his sanity a bit.

I adore my engagement ring and know that it will be an heirloom that will be passed along through generations. I don’t wear a lot of jewelry but I like to know the pieces I do wear mean something to me. I’d encourage you to look through Invaluable’s auction jewelry page and see what lovely items you may find. They have bracelets, watches, rings, necklaces, pins, brooches, and even some loose stones for the cavalier among us ; )

What is your most special piece of jewelry? Does it have a great story?

3 thoughts on “My Engagement Ring

  1. Along with my engagement and wedding rings, I love the pearl necklace Dad gave to Mom when she was pregnant with me. A simple, small pearl on a thin gold chain – a beautiful necklace for a beautiful memory! I wear it all the time.

  2. I chose an all-sapphire vintage wedding band, which my husband thought was a little odd (“are you sure you don’t want diamonds?”), but I just love it! …maybe I’ll find some sapphire earrings to go with it on Invaluable’s site 🙂

Leave a Reply

