A Welcome Friday

IMG_3578

IMG_3571

IMG_3579

IMG_3581

IMG_3582

IMG_3584

IMG_3588All week I have felt so flat. I’ve been sick, it’s been hot, and I’ve missed my family more than usual. The perfect trifecta for feeling low. Yesterday I had an “enough is enough” moment so I put on real clothes, plugged into a podcast and took a leisurely walk into town to pick up groceries and a few treats for the weekend.

Sometimes a costume change, warm sunshine, and a good breeze are enough to pull you out of a sticky funk. Still, thank goodness it’s Friday.

What are you up to this weekend? We might head back down to the river tomorrow to laze in the sun and cool off with a float, but we’d like to get in a hike on Sunday. The weather looks beautiful and I’m itching to get out of the city. I hope whatever you get up to this weekend is wonderful, and here a few links I’ve rounded up just for you.

A song for the weekend

This 5-4-3-2-1 packing guide is genius! Hoping to use it for my upcoming travels in August

How Nike turned sneakers into fashion

Great tips for storing wine, whether for days or years. (Note: I love the idea of buying a special bottle and saving it for your ten-year anniversary or your child’s 21st birthday)

“Because once you learn that the vast majority of the planet doesn’t care who you are or what you’re doing, you realize that there is no reason to not be who you want to be. There is no one to please. There is no one to impress. Most of the time, it’s just you, yourself and the stories you invent in your mind.” How liberating! I usually avoid articles in this vein, but this one about lessons learned while traveling is well written and insightful.

I’ve never made quinoa before but I think this will be the first recipe I try. Although everything will have to be fresh because we don’t have a microwave! Any tips on cooking quinoa?

I did this YouTube workout video yesterday and can really feel it in my legs (so many squats!) It was my first day working out in a week so maybe that has something to do with it… But that Ellen Barrett, she’s so sneaky.

I need this motivation

A PSA about bad wood finishes. Made me laugh

The J.Crew man brought me this jumpsuit this week. Yowza! Recommended : )

“It’s nearly impossible to detangle personal preference from social conditioning, our deepest desires from the codes we have been taught to follow. I am not foolish enough to think I have made a final decision about marriage. But it turns out that what I was waiting for was not the chance to marry but the chance to think about marriage on an even playing field, in a world where its relevance is a little harder to question and its essence a little harder to reject.” Lena Dunham’s musings on the impact of the Supreme Court’s recent decision to allow same-sex marriages.

4 thoughts on “A Welcome Friday

  1. Hi Kristina- Like I have said before I do so enjoy your blog!Am sorry that you didn’t feel well-sounds like you are having a heat wave-we are getting rain all day today-It has been cool the past four days which is not normal for July!I worried about Shelley, Steph and Cindy leaving early for KC-it was pouring!But they made it and are helping Susan celebrate her birthday-I had eye laser done on one eye Monday-so felt I should be home– I really hope you and Adam have a good weekend and that you will be much better! Love you Grandma

  2. The quinoa recipe looks yummy- I want to try it too! I cook quinoa on the stove. It’s super easy… 1C quinoa to 2C water. Let it boil, cook for about 10 minutes or until most of the water is soaked in. Let it sit covered for a few minutes then fluff with a fork. Definitely rinse the quinoa first before you cook it. Sorry you weren’t feeling well this week my love! Take care this weekend. xoxo

Leave a Reply

