One Snowy Day

IMG_4977

IMG_4980We’ve had a few flurries here, mostly overnight, but yesterday was the first really pretty snow day of the season. Huge, fat flakes fell for most of the morning and early afternoon. I stepped outside to get some fresh air and snap a few pictures from the Rosengarten, at which time the snow turned to rain and the sidewalks became a slushy mess. I briefly thought about running an errand or two, thought about my pajamas, favored the latter and returned home. Just say no to slush.

The snow melted from all that rain and it’s back to drizzling today, but it was lovely to see the city blanketed in white. The old town, as seen above, looks especially charming with its snow-covered peaked roofs and chimneys. Foggy Bern town, you’re all right.

What are you up to this weekend? We have a few things on the to-do list, but it will probably be pretty quiet around here (thanks rain!) I suspect we won’t do quite as much gluttonous eating as last weekend, but I do have a few recipes I’d like to try. Wishing you a warm and cozy weekend! For now, a very condensed version of the internet:

A song for your weekend

Recipes include: chicken chili and the best baked ziti (without ricotta!)

Counteract those with this workout

I live in this chunky wool cardigan during winter

This face mask helps soothe dry, chapped skin, which is in abundance this time of year

A fun brain teaser for the mid-day slump

Made me laugh

I made this cocktail last night and it was real, real good

Currently reading

“My Marriage Didn’t End When I Became a Widow”. So beautiful and moving. Prepare to cry.

Leave a Reply

