Tuesday Book Club: The Girl on the Train

IMG_5180

Slow mornings are my favorite part of the weekend: coffee in bed, a good book, no plans. It’s an itinerary that is new to me since getting married, but I’ve grown to love it. I used to like to wake up and get moving, thinking that staying in bed was a waste of a morning. Ah, the naïveté! Now, relaxing in bed is something I look forward to, like a proper adult. (I feel like I’m making myself out to be the World’s Laziest Person on the blog, but I swear I get stuff done!)

This past weekend I read all of The Girl on the Train, mostly in bed. It’s a very quick read, partly because the language isn’t complex and partly because of the suspense. I love a good whodunnit story, especially one that isn’t overly gory or violent–I have a weak stomach.

I read it because it’s my next book club selection, but also because curiosity finally won out. For a while I was hesitant to read it: it was always recommended in the context of a comparison (“the next Gone Girl“). I wanted to read it because it was a good book, not because it was going to remind me of something else. In fact, when I started reading it on Friday afternoon I told my friend Nicole over beers that evening that I already liked it but I wasn’t sure if that was because I actually liked it or because everyone told me I was going to love it and want to immediately devour it. It’s funny how the cultural conversation can become a big part of our entertainment experience (obviously, this isn’t limited to books; our taste and enjoyment of movies and music are also heavily influenced by society).

After zipping through the thriller in less than 48 hours, I can say that The Girl on the Train delivered exactly what I was looking for. It was fast-paced and suspenseful, with lots of twists and diversions. Here is a particularly flattering review that offers no spoilers in case you’re keen to know a bit more.

It may sound counterintuitive, but I find these books relaxing. You don’t have to work too hard to get into the plot and there isn’t a lot of subtext to keep you busy. They are straightforward and entertaining. Perfect for those lazy weekend mornings.

Have you read it? What did you think? The movie adaptation is set to release in theaters this October. Emily Blunt plays Rachel, the alcoholic amateur detective, the actual girl on the train. I think she’s a fantastic actress so I’m looking forward to her portrayal of this dark, somewhat unlikable character.

In an effort to keep myself sharp I’ve taken a complete 180-degree turn and started When Breath Becomes Air. It’s gorgeous and heartbreaking and it kept me up way too late last night. More next week!

3 thoughts on “Tuesday Book Club: The Girl on the Train

  1. Oh yay, I’m so glad you liked it! I’m her publicist here in the states so VERY biased but genuinely loved it. I also have When Breath Becomes Air on my nightstand, I’ve not been able to get started, it’s so sad! But you’re encouraging me to give it another go. Happy reading!

    • I saw your Insta comment and forgot to reply–but that is so cool that you are her publicist! Feeling lots of job envy over here ; ) I’d definitely recommend giving When Breath Becomes Air a solid chance, but do be ready to weep. I was a mess finishing it! But you’ll love it.

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Book Club: 2016 Update | A Broad At Home

Leave a Reply

